noobaround.blogg.se

Promise pegasus r4 hard drive replacement
Promise pegasus r4 hard drive replacement













promise pegasus r4 hard drive replacement

promise pegasus r4 hard drive replacement

In my case, as I have just the one array, there is no choice: DA0. The first task then is to select the disk array to migrate. The Promise Utility app does that from its Background Activities tool: simply click on the Start button in the Migration section. But to achieve that, I had to migrate the RAID to the new, larger size. I repeated that until all four of the drives were new 2 TB units.Īfter the fourth and final rebuild, I had the same 3 TB logical drive on four 2 TB drives, which were actually capable of delivering a net total of 6 TB storage. Once the first new drive had been rebuilt, I shut the system down, popped the next old drive out, replaced it with a new 2 TB unit, and rebuilt the RAID again. Because I am using Level 5 RAID, one out of the four drives can fail without incurring any data loss, so the remaining three drives can always rebuild a fourth. Once they arrived, I popped the dead drive first, replaced it with a new 2 TB unit, powered the RAID up, and set it to rebuild the new drive. Rather than keep replacing 1 TB drives, I decided that it was time to replace all four drives with new 2 TB units. Holding my Time Machine backup drive and configured as a Level 5 array, its 3 TB space had been steadily eaten away until less than 450 GB were remaining.

#PROMISE PEGASUS R4 HARD DRIVE REPLACEMENT UPGRADE#

My upgrade was rather forced on me, when the original four 1 TB hard drives started to fail after more than four years of continuous and quite heavy use. If you have a hardware RAID system like the Promise Pegasus R4, how easy is it to increase its drive capacity non-destructively?















Promise pegasus r4 hard drive replacement